Home About Competitive Updates Team Rules Team Captains Tournaments Results Forms Resources Hall of Fame Alumni FAQ Contact Info

Tournament Results


2021-2022 Parkway West Speech & Debate Results


GSL Congress #1 (10/1)

-Paige Matthys-Pearce was 5th in her chamber

-Noah Schell and Annie Zhang were 4th in their chambers 

-Thomas Bruns was 3rd in his chambers

-Rachel Bhagat and Santi Lugo were Chamber CHAMPIONS!


Francis Howell North Invitational (10/29 - 10/30): 

-Krish Bhagat was 3rd in Varsity HI

-Grace Loethen was 6th in Novice Extemp

-Santi Lugo was 4th Varsity DX

-San Kumar was 4th in Varsity Radio 

-Triya Gudipati was a Novice LD Semifinalist

-Paige Matthys-Pearce was the Poetry Reading Tournament Champion!

-Noah Schell & San Kumar were Open Policy Debate Tournament Champions


GSL Congress #2 (11/5)

-Paige Matthys-Pearce, Annie Zhang, & Alan Song were 6th in their chambers

-San Kumar was 5th in his chambers 

-Thomas Bruns was 4th in his chambers

-Rachel Bhagat and Kayvon Rezaei were 3rd in their chambers.


Clayton Varsity/Ladue Novice Invitational (11/19-11/20): The team place 5th in overall sweeps

At the Novice half... 

-Ben Gingrich was 4th in Extemp
-Ben Gingrich & Will Brown were Policy Debate Quarterfinalists 

At the Varsity half... The team placed 3rd overall

-Paige Matthys-Pearce was 4th in POI

-Santi Lugo was 3rd in DX

-Rachel Bhagat was 2nd in Congressional Debate

-Kayvon Rezaei was 2nd in FX

-Thomas Bruns & Katie Jauss were 2nd in Duo Interp

-Paige Matthys-Pearce & Santi Lugo were Tournament Champions in Duo Interp 

-Rithanya Sivabalan & Riya Ashok with Katie Jauss & Thomas Bruns closed out Varsity PF, placing 2nd and 1st respectively 

-Noah Schell & Areeb Hasan were Champ Policy Tournament Champions 


Raytown Invitational (12/11-12/12):  


Liberty (KC) (1/15-1/16): 



GSL Congress #2 (1/22)



Springfield Central/Parkview (1/29-1/30)


COMO Classic (2/5-2/6)


Marquette Invitational (2/12-2/13)


2020-2021 MSHSAA Districts (3/5 - 3/6): 

State Qualifiers are...


Finalists Include...


2020-2021 NSDA Districts (2/27, 3/11-13):

National Qualifiers are...



Alternates Include... 



MSHSAA State Tournament (4/23-4/24)

NSDA National Tournament (6/12-6/19):



2020-21 Team Honors

Department Award Winner:  Tyler Kinzy

Matthew Viglione Scholarship Recipient: Tyler Kinzy

Honor Cords: 

  • Arreya Shaw - 177
  • Maaz Khan - 348
  • Ibrahim Ahmed - 429
  • Sarah Sun - 433
  • Justin Xu - 452
  • Sid Das - 471
  • Amina Aser - 493
  • Ulaa Kuziez - 541
  • Skyler Ji - 654
  • Praveen Dharmavarapu - 792
  • Ella Seigel - 906
  • Yusuf Hacking - 907
  • Tyler Kinzy - 1087
  • Grace O'Connor - 1124
  • Kathryn McAuliffe - 1158
  • Zoey Womick - 1267
  • Laura Young - 1272

Best Novice Debater: Krish Bhagat

Best Novice Events: Paige Matthys-Pearce

Best Varsity Debater: Laura Young

Best Varsity Events: Kathryn McAuliffe

Unsung Hero: Tyler Kinzy & Sophie Kucakkaya


NFL Academic All-Americans:

These students must have 750 NFL points, a 27 or higher on their ACT, and a 3.7 or higher GPA. 

    • Praveen Dharmavarapu
    • Yusuf Hacking
    • Ella Seigel
    • Tyler Kinzy 
    • Kathryn McAuliffe
    • Zoey Womick
    • Laura Young